gelling agents, pectin, gummy vitamins, science

All You Need to Know About Pectin And Other Gelling Agents

Gummy vitamins are such a fun and effective way to incorporate nutrients into your daily routine. But have you often wondered what exactly they’re made of? Aside from numerous vitamins and minerals, all gummy vitamins must contain some sort of gelling agent. In fact, there would be no other way to achieve such an enjoyable, snack-like texture. 

If you’re experienced in baking and cooking, you may also know that gelling agents can be used as stabilizers and thickeners (1). Texture is so important for culinary purposes that you can find various gelling agents at your local supermarket. By using such agents in edible products, the result will be solid without feeling too stiff. Other than gummy vitamins, think along the lines of jello, jams, and chewy candies. 

gummy vitamin, supplement, pectin, gelling agent

So what are some of the most common gelling agents?

  • Starches
  • Pectin
  • Gums 
  • Gelatin
  • Agar-Agar

And which one do we use in our deliciously zero-sugar vitamins? Pectin! 


At KalaVita, one of our top priorities across our entire product line is to ensure that our products are vegan. By using pectin, we are able to keep this standard amidst every new product launch. Pectin is naturally found in many fruits and vegetables but can be created commercially as well. Unlike other gelling agents created from the skin, bones, and fat of animals, pectin is a safe, cruelty-free option to opt for. 

One of the most common gelling agents found in products on the market is gelatin. However, this ingredient is derived from the animal products mentioned above, making it unsuitable for those following a vegan or vegetarian diet. 

As always, be mindful of ingredient labels on the foods and supplements you purchase. Many consumers who follow a particular diet or live by specific values often rely solely on the name of the product or even the brand that makes it. Formulas and recipes often change, so it’s always important to keep an eye out for what may or may not be vegan. 

However, one thing is for sure – all KalaVita gummies are guaranteed to be completely vegan, made with plant-derived pectin! 




SourcesL
  1. https://foodandnutrition.org/may-june-2017/stabilizers-thickeners-gelling-agents/ 
  2. https://www.healthline.com/nutrition/is-pectin-vegan#pectin-vs-gelatin 
  • Hair Hair~

    Regular price From $29.99
    Regular price Sale price From $29.99
    Hair Hair~
  • Nite Nite :)

    Regular price From $25.99
    Regular price Sale price From $25.99
    Nite Nite :)
  • Focus Focus!

    Regular price From $29.99
    Regular price Sale price From $29.99
    Focus Focus!
  • Nite Nite & Hair Hair

    Regular price $44.78
    Regular price $55.98 Sale price $44.78
    Nite Nite & Hair Hair
    Sale